HOTTEST RELEASES MUSIC NEWS

AXS TV announces 'A Year In Music' series | The Music Universe

DJShortDJShort

New series takes viewers on immersive journey through the sounds of 1977, 1969, 1983, 1975 and more

AXS TV explores the legendary sounds that defined the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s in the all-new original series A Year In Music — premiering Sunday, July 7th at 9 pm ET/6 pm PT, before the Season Two premiere of TrunkFest at 9:30 pm ET/6:30 pm PT. A Year In Music is the newest addition to the network’s music-themed Sunday Night Rocks lineup, which also includes the popular talk-and-jam program Rock & Roll Road Trip With Sammy Hagar at 8 pm ET/5 pm PT; the hilarious and heartfelt reality series Real Money, starring Eddie Money, at 8:30 pm ET/5:30 pm PT; and the immersive music festival series TrunkFest, hosted by Eddie Trunk, at 9:30 pm ET.

Beloved former MTV VJs Downtown Julie Brown and Matt Pinfield, rock superstar Don Felder and film, television and stand up comedy legend Tommy Chong are the pop culture icons and experts who host the series. A Year In Music puts the spotlight on a different year each week, exploring the impact and influence that bands, songs, pop culture, and politics had on the era. The season begins with a look back at 1977, as Brown compares and contrasts the sunny hit singles coming out of Los Angeles’ blossoming music scene with the melancholy moodiness emanating from New York City, and explains how pop music evolved into what we have today in the July 7th episode.

The ten episode season also features Pinfield’s examination of 1966, documenting the changing sound of pop music and the last glory days of classic crooners such as Frank Sinatra (July 14th); Felder’s trip to the Grammy Museum at L.A. Live, where he breaks down the music of 1969’s Peace & Love Movement (July 21st); Brown’s in-depth look at 1983 covering the birth of MTV, the early days of music videos, and the rise of heavy metal (August 4th); and Pinfield’s dissection of 1975, fueled by trailblazing bands such as Led Zeppelin and Pink Floyd, and political unrest spurred by the economic crisis (August 11th). Other highlights include Felder’s discussion of the headlines that dominated 1973 — ranging from Disco to Watergate, and everything in between (August 18th); a trip back to 1985, where Brown reflects on the growing influence of cable TV, the massive impact of music videos as a cultural cornerstone, and the unparalleled music scene that saw half of the ‘80s top albums on the charts in the same year (September 1st); and more.

“AXS TV is proud to welcome A Year In Music to our Sunday Night Rocks programming lineup,” states Evan Haiman, Vice President of Music Programming and Production, AXS TV. “The series is the perfect complement to a night that is, essentially, a celebration of all things classic rock—giving viewers a unique look at the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s by exploring the unforgettable songs, bands, pop culture, and even politics that impacted and influenced some of the most important years in music.”

Check local listings.

Related Articles